What becomes emergent

Published March 7, 2011 by Lynda Christine Rodriguez

I have mentioned a time or to, that I was the victim of an unscheduled, unplanned and unwelcome hemorrhagic stroke. ( I know, who plans on having one of those.)  This happened one month after my 34th birthday.  At the time, I was under a lot of job and personal stress and lived with the Absence of All that is Good and Holy.
I remember wishing for a slower paced life when I blew out my birthday candles. I realize now I should have been more specific.
I recently read two separate books told from the POV of highly stressed, highly motivated women in their thirties. One woman suffered a serious brain trauma (because she was multi-tasking on the highway.)One suffered a massive heart attack. (because she was multi-tasking through life.)
Today I read this in Dear Abby, “KIDNEY DISEASE IS PRICE PAID FOR NEGLECTED BLOOD PRESSUREDEAR ABBY: Like many other young adults, I was too busy establishing a career during my 20s and early 30s to care much about diet and exercise. I felt healthy, so I saw no need to change my lifestyle. My doctor had told me my blood pressure was elevated during a number of my yearly physical exams, but I didn’t ask any questions and took no action. “This woman is suffering from kidney failure.  Apparently the universe is trying to tell me something that  I am too stupid to have learned after 8 years, two of which was spent working with all of the kings horsemen and all the kings men to put my brain back together again.  (By the way, why didn’t any of Humpty’s pals call a surgeon or at least a sous chef?) I find myself stressing out and panicking for no reason at all.  I do have a certain amount of job stress, but I also need to listen to what I tell my students.  There are no theatrical emergencies. Some days it can wait.

Leave a comment