I know, but I don’t know.

Published March 13, 2011 by Lynda Christine Rodriguez

Here I at the beginning of my Spring Break, rife with possibility for the free time and dodging from the things that will actually suck up all of my time.  The most important thing I need to do is to teeter on the fine line of being self-motivated and not pushing myself too hard.
Yesterday, I pushed too hard and now I’m achy and weary feeling.   I am trying to make myself enjoy the down time.  I just said, MAKE MYSELF ENJOY.
How did I get to the point where I can’t just enjoy something like leisure?  I know what the consequence is for running myself into the ground.  (It’s having a worm’s eye view for eternity. I just made that up.)
The second most important thing I need to do this week is to spend time with the Kid.  He’s going to New York in the fall, and we won’t have as much free time together, maybe ever. But if I’m tired and achy and tense, neither of us will have any fun. I know what I need to do. Why is it so damn hard?

Leave a Reply

