Now?! Right Now?!

Published April 28, 2011 by Lynda Christine Rodriguez

Living in the Now.  What does that even mean?  As a theatre arts educator, I should certainly be familiar with the concept, as quite a bit of my job and life involve “being in the moment”.

Well, what if the moment is crummy?  You rehearse it over and over again until the crummy is gone.

What if the crummy never leaves?

I know, nice attitude to have.

My students are going to perform the show they did two weeks ago again on Monday.  It was the only time a school day performance could be wedged into the schedule.  While I understand that, I can’t help but feel that the idea is akin to asking athletes to play the exact same game in the exact same way one more time.

It’s not fair.

I know, I know, life is not about fair.

I, however, think that as an educator I should at least try to make the situation equitable, if not ‘fair’.

I guess that means more coffee so that I continue to hop up in the air and try and push things into a pleasing shape. (The situation, not my forty-something body.)

Leave a Reply

