It’s about time I listened to my brain

Published September 22, 2011 by Lynda Christine Rodriguez

I have no idea what side of my brain handles most of my information processing.  I have always had an affinity for arts and literature.  I become particularly balky when it comes to science and math, in fact I turned a corner in a school one day and encountered a giant poster with SAT math test questions on it.  A little voice in my head said, “Run, don’t walk away.”  I know this is not how educated adults behave.  I often wonder what would happen if I tried another career, like medical billing and coding, one of my oldest friends has a very satisfying career in this field.    I wonder if it would be like learning another language, and how hard it would be.  For some unknown reason, I wouldn’t mind trying to learn Spanish or French, but my head feels the same about Aramaic and Mandarin as it does about math.  I’m not entirely sure how it feels about Science, but I’m afraid to ask.  I know better than to ask my brain to do anything it doesn’t want to do.  There are whole days when my brain and I simply walk past each other and nod passively to each other, trying not to make a commitment to any particular thought or event.  The last time I tried to push it where it didn’t want to go, it leaped on me when I wasn’t looking.  I have to admit, my brain kicked my ass.

Leave a Reply

