Other short stories from the animal kingdom

Published October 9, 2011 by Lynda Christine Rodriguez

 

I have no idea why my creative writing prompts always lead back to the Animal World, but here’s one.  It sounds a bit nuts even for me.

I never thought much about Sidney.  He was just the guy who hung around at the end of the dock, and if you ask me, I always thought the situation was a little iffy.  Something seemed fishy about the whole situation.   He always seemed to know a little too much.  I don’t know how he kept all of this to himself; he has kind of a big mouth.  Who knew he could keep it shut for so long?  I think the whole thing just dropped into his lap, and he scooped it up and made the delivery.   When it came out that he was the one who saved the world, we were all stunned.  Every one said it was that baby, and the way he optimized that technology for Colonel Blackberry,  But all of us buoys and gulls know the truth, without Sidney to make the delivery, the kid would never have gotten to the right place at the right time.

I think it’s something about waterfowl.  The first play I ever wrote was a ten-minute play  that was driven by dialogue centered around duck puns.

I think that’s what spawned this tidbit:

I was at the park, watching the ducks swim by.  It made me think of all of the times my family had picnics in the park, and how we would save bits of bread to throw to the ducks. That was before we knew that white bread was bad for the ducks.  I’m not sure when this discovery was made, but I know that most parks have a station where you can trade your spare change for duck food; kind of a vending machine for water fowl.  I don’t know the reasoning behind this, but I can’t help but wonder if the whole grain conspiracy is behind this.  Whole grain has the best PR agent out there.  Everything has whole grain in it, so sayeth the labeling, so shall it be.  The cereal companies are even touting the addition of whole grain to sugary cereal.  I think that’s to assuage the guilt of any of us who were having conflicted feeling about anything in the loop or O family.

And twice in the last six weeks I have referenced tap dancing lemurs.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

