Cyber Karma

Published October 15, 2011 by Lynda Christine Rodriguez

As I have said numerous times, I watch entirely too much television.  I watch a lot of documentaries, mainly so my brain will not dissolve in a pile of goo.   Right now, I’m watching a documentary called, “Growing Up Online”.  What I am getting out of this so far is that people as whole don’t seem to get the point that one has to invest more than money and a monitor into the education of their child or the whole village of children.

A lot of parents seemed baffled by the online presence of their offspring.  I don’t want to come off as preachy, but if that’s how I appear, that’s just dandy.  I acknowledge that and take responsibility for what I just said because MY PARENTS TAUGHT ME TO TAKE RESPONSIBILITY FOR MY WORDS AND DEEDS.  (I know, the nerve of those people!)  How does someone not know what their child is doing inches away from them?

It all boils down to core values.  Don’t have your confrontation online.  Teach your kids to be responsible, caring individuals. Follow through on  set rules and expectations.  The whole world is watching your kids; act accordingly.

Leave a Reply

