unconscious streaming

Published May 7, 2012 by Lynda Christine Rodriguez

I have no idea what I am doing.  I want to be perfectly clear. I usually flail about willy-nilly, but that’s by accident.  Today I am intentionally just winging it.  It has nothing to do with my sudden chaos in plain sight day.  I am subbing today, but at this point in the year, it’s mostly just riding herd on students and making sure no gets too loud and is at least pretending to do something. I am not the kind of person who can just put their brain on cruise.  In an effort to sharpen skills and possibly right something medium good, because I got inspired/wild hared by Change Me into Zeuss’s Daughter, which won the Faulkner Competition for Creative Non-Fiction, and thus decided that I was going to enter, if possible.  It’s possible, except that the deadline is in eight days.  Okay, can I write a personal memoir essay of 3500 words in eight days? Possibly.  Will it be good? Who knows?

In addition to my obsessive need for constant reassurance, I also have the fear that someone is going to say, “Yeah, she’s a good writer, but who gives a S###?”

Okay, I am the person most likely to say that.

I don’t know where I should start.

So I am experiment with streaming the conscious while things happen around me. I am trying not to look down.  The last time I did this I did it in longhand and came up with a character that told me the story of the novel that I am currently poking along with a stick.

How’s it going so far?

Leave a Reply

