Why I shouldn’t kickbox

Published October 3, 2012 by Lynda Christine Rodriguez

There are a number of reasons why I shouldn’t renew my interest in what Lloyd Dobbler called the sport of the future, not the least of which is the fact that I am not supposed to put my brain in the kind of situation where it is likely to be folded, spindled or mutilated.  (Unfortunately, Roller Derby is also on this list. I’m bummed out about that, even though you’re not allowed to punch anyone in the head anymore.)

The primary reason that I shouldn’t hone my kickboxing skills to turn my freakishly strong legs into weapons is that I would be kicking a lot of justice into people.

I hate bullies.  I hate the situations that create bullies and allow for bullying to continue.

This month is Anti-Bullying month. A few people have clued in to the fact that fat-shaming is a form of bullying.

I have been a healthy sized gal most of my life.

For  a brief time in 1989 I was a size five. (Five on the bottom, ten on the top.) Even then I was advised to lose more weight.  I could only maintain  this small size by subsisting on air-popped popcorn and diet Coke.

That’s no way to live.

Once again I turn to XO Jane for focus

http://www.xojane.com/issues/overweight-wisconsin-news-anchor

True this woman is in the public eye, but that does not mean that she should be shamed.

And as Jane writer Marianne points out, why did the rude guy feel like he needed to point out to this much-kinder-than-I-would-ever-be woman was fat?

Anyone who has ever been on stage or on camera is hyper-aware of what they look like.

There’s the “Such a pretty face” backhanded compliment.  I actual wait for the moment that someone flings this at me.  I want to corner them by responding, “Oh, I know! I left the the house an hour ago and I was a size five. I don’t know what the hell happened! I think I’m having an allergic reaction.”

Then I would probably boot them in the face.

Lloyd Dobbler would love that.

Leave a Reply

