Still in Process, Now that’s Progress(s)

Published October 9, 2012 by Lynda Christine Rodriguez

To paraphrase Ron White, I’m going to tell you this story so I can tell you that story:  I have the great pleasure of having once out-talked Uncle Hugh Bailey.  Hugh Bailey is Katboy’s uncle.  We were at the reception following my father-in-law, Thomas D. Hembree’s,  memorial service.  Now, I love my in-law’s, but I sometimes wonder why they see me in the light that they often do.  When my father-in-law died, my sister-in-law, the brilliant and talented writer, Jody Wallace, said

“I can’t wait for you to get here so you can deal with people.”

I still wonder what it is she had in mind.  I figured my choices were  to either a) wrestle people to the ground as the tried to approach, or b) squat on the roof like a gargoyle.

Anyway, Uncle Hugh, is known for his ability to talk ad infinitum about anything and everything.  I decided that as a favor to the family, I would have a chat with Uncle Hugh while the rest of the family enjoyed their lunch.

One month prior to this I had completed the Oral Exams for my Master’s in Education so when Uncle Hugh asked me what I thought about the role of the teacher in the current environment. The Mary Kay Letourneau case had just gotten national attention, so I was well prepared to answer that.  I covered the topic citing examples from Bell Hooks, Jonathon Kozol and touching a bit on chaos theory.

After that, Uncle Hugh  got up, thanked me for the informative chat and walked away.

Now that story is important because it sets the stage for the speechifying that I am preparing to do.

The topic of the rant I am currently working on is: We are hard on our children and we don’t have to be.   I am speaking in terms of Education, although I am also thinking about how society has viewed children throughout the development of society.  It’s a lot to wade through, but I am a firm believer in not speechifying until you have lined up all of your ducks.

And I don’t want to bother the ducklings until they are ready.

Leave a Reply

