You have the write, but do you have the ability?

Published November 28, 2012 by Lynda Christine Rodriguez

I am still editing the “adult content.” I am also teaching a couple of days a week. I have to compartmentalize  things quite a bit so I don’t get blurry between the two.  I  read a lot, and I read really fast.  When  I edit, I have to read critically.

That does not mean that I actually criticize these stories in any productive way.(To be honest, if I were to do so, I would suggest that someone strike one or two of these writers with a piece of office machinery so that perhaps they would think twice about ever setting cursor to blank screen ever, ever again.)

By critical read, I mean that I have to examine every word for grammatical error and readability. (That’s different from legibility, unfortunately some of these stories come through loud and clear. No pun intended)

At the same time  I cobble together a review/synopsis thing that is both positive and true.

Not easy.

I am in no way saying that every single word that comes out of my mouth or out of my fingers is fascinating and the work of genius, but conversely, not everything is inane twaddle either (Inane Twaddle sounds like the worst Tea and Room and Bed and Breakfast ever.  I think it would be the perfect place to go on a first date. )

I sometimes wonder which words will survive the Zombie Apocalypse.

You have the write, but should you?

One comment on “You have the write, but do you have the ability?

  • Leave a Reply

