Attack of the media

Published November 29, 2012 by Lynda Christine Rodriguez

I am winding down another day of editing. To keep my brain from exploding again (neat trick, but I can only do it once. I’m saving Brain Hemorrhage: The Return to perhaps save my family from Zombies. )

One of the things I do to keep the brain from shrieking from, shall we say, the skill level of the writers who have created the gems that I am perusing and fine tuning, is watch documentaries. (Years of doing homework and paperwork during rehearsals have created the need for background noise.)

Today’s documentary was Girl  27

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0912586/

It’s the story of Patricia Douglas who, as a seventeen year old dancer for MGM, was raped in 1937 at a studio party.

There are many things about this documentary that I find disturbing.  The most horrifying is that over six decades later, pretty teenage girls are still considered a disposable commodity.

This is not news to me. But I’m still horrified.

This is something that has been on my mind lately.

The person who introduced me to the idea that show business values pretty more than it does smart and hard working recently passed away.  This was not an overt comment, he didn’t come up to me and say:

“You are a troll and therefore you will be required to work harder and be paid less than Busty and Dingy  who lounge around simpering cutely.”

But it was still pretty obvious.  It’s not his fault.  It’s just the way things are.  They will be this way until individual people do something about it.

What should you do?

I was looking at a picture from this time   (1985) where I am positioned right next to Busty and Dingy.  Looking at the picture, I was just as pretty as those two.

I just never thought so.

I devalued myself so I allowed others to devalue me.

Teach your girls to speak up and that no matter what, they are just as important as the Busty and Dingy’s of the world.

And watch that documentary.

Leave a Reply

