Stop disorienting my penguin!

Published December 8, 2012 by Lynda Christine Rodriguez

I am an avid fan of http://www.lumosity.com.  I admit, I was swayed by the commercials. (I watch entirely too much television.)

I actually do know quite about Neuroplasticity

(from neural – pertaining to the nerves and/or brain and plastic – moldable or changeable in structure) refers to changes in neural pathways and synapses which are due to changes in behavior, environment and neural processes, as well as changes resulting from bodily injury.[1] Neuroplasticity has replaced the formerly-held position that the brain is a physiologically static organ, and explores how – and in which ways – the brain changes throughout life.[2] 

The above is courtesy from the good folk at Wikipedia.

Lumosity provides those of us who are so inclined to play brain games in an attempt to improve or neural pathways.  (Some people won’t ask for directions.  I, however, relish the chance to find out new things.)

I have been in a bad mood all day today.  I was trying to figure out why.  (Not that I never need an excuse to snarl and blar at the world, I just want to pinpoint the triggers for future reference.)

This morning I narrowly avoided being clipped by a brand new Cadillac Land Behemoth.  Said Behemoth was driving in the exit only lane at the Starbucks. I, like the other people who follow the rules, was blamelessly following the arrows through the poorly planned parking lot. I  said (talking to myself is usually the first sign that my mood is going to turn vile.) “I coulda let you in; by I’m not gonna because I don’t wanna.”    I figure I’m in a ten year old Dodge Neon.  I’m not going to emerge the loser if the Cadillac hits me.

There were a few other incidents of similar vexation  that made me stabby.  As I going through today’s brain training, it occurred to me why I was in such a bad mood.

One of the games that I’m not so fantastic at involves moving a penguin through a maze on an ice floe. He (I’m assuming, I don’t know how to tell on a cartoon penguin.) is making his way through the maze towards a fish. The goal is to get your penguin to the fish before the other penguin gets there.   The victorious penguin then waves the fish in the air before giving it a satisfying chomp.  The losing penguin makes a Homer Simpson-esque D’oh sound.  The better you get a the game , the harder it is to get to the fish because the ice floe will move, causing you to have to adjust your sense of direction.

My metaphorical penguin kept getting disoriented by  stupid people. And I didn’t get a fish.

 

Leave a Reply

