It’s a weird world.

Published February 6, 2013 by Lynda Christine Rodriguez

So far the first bit of weird that slammed into me was clicking on Pandora for today’s background noise, and hearing “Part of that  world”, from the Little Mermaid. (I had accidentally reset the menu to Show Tunes.)  It reminded me that all of my childhood, The Little Mermaid was my favorite fairy tale. The original ending is depressing, what with the mermaid going through an incredible amount of pain to ensure her love’s happiness, only to sacrifice herself for him, all the while he remains oblivious to her love and devotion.  (I was a serious and sensitive child. )

While I love the complexity and depth of character, (Might I add much more complex than the characters one can find in the Fifty Shades series.)  when I heard about the Disney film, I desperately hoped that they did not keep the original ending.  I know that there was no way I could voice my displeasure to Disney, but I could vent my rage on the popcorn guy.

In other news, my website is up and running.  On the page you can find the first two chapters of my novel, Circumstance and the special treat of Chapter one as performed by George X Rodriguez and Dustin K. Nolen.

http://www.ellesview.com

 

Leave a Reply

