Truth’s just desserts

Published April 28, 2013 by Lynda Christine Rodriguez

My friend Cathy, the high priestess of high school technical theatre, calls chick lit, magazines and tabloids “dessert reading.”

It’s the weekend, so I splurged on  People Magazine (Only because the Weekly World News is out of circulation.) and decided to follow up on a thread from Friday’s Dr. Phil. (I know, I know, but sometimes I need a break.)  

This week’s People has “The Most Beautiful Woman in the World” Gwyneth Paltrow.” Now this would normally send me off onto a rant about what is considered beauty and how are we supposed to teach our children to find inner beauty when you have a the lovely blonde on the cover, but I’ve already ranted that rant. It’s true, but I’ve already said it.  I should be surprised that it took People 150 pages to get to something that could be considered actual news, but by then my brain was so spongy from perfume ads and photos of various celebrities, (I had no idea that Jane Fonda was 75 years old!) that I really didn’t care anymore, and isn’t that the point of weekend reading? 

So the Dr. Phil Episode was on Catfishing.  This gave me pause, because I had absolutely no idea what this meant. I soon figured out what it meant, both from context clues and from Googling it.  

Courtesy the good people at Urban Dictionary: 

catfish is someone who pretends to be someone they’re not using Facebook or other social media to create false identities, particularly to pursue deceptive online romances.
Did you hear how Dave got totally catfished last month?! The fox he thought he was talking to turned out to be a pervy guy from San Diego

And there’s a whole MTV series based on the documentary of the same name. Now I’m not unfamiliar with the idea that people lie on the Internet (Quelle Surprise!) but I am disappointed that I have lost touch with popular culture.  I’m not sure how much I want to let this bother me.  I watched one episode (On Hulu;  I will be documenting my descent into madness as a direct result of my lack of Satellite Television.) 

Now it may be my age, or it may be my active search for truth that makes flimsy stories stand right out like a white bra under a blacklight (An unfortunate drill team epsiode in high school, not mine, I was and uber band geek.) But really, how many male models are taking pre-med classes online in between Production Assistant tasks on Chelsea Lately? Um, none, it turns out. 

This dessert didn’t really satisfy.  It was good, like oreos and canned pudding, but I think I should hold out for something really good, like chocolate lava cake with fresh berries. 

MMM berries 

Leave a Reply

