How well do I want to be able to see? and other questions I ask myself when I’m preparing

Published July 22, 2013 by Lynda Christine Rodriguez

I am trying to do new and exciting things. I realize that for someone who loves knowledge (and in fact, yearns for it) I don’t really follow through with grand adventures.

I generally don’t like to do anything that requires me to wear real pants.

I made the mistake of musing aloud that I was thinking about auditioning for the upcoming production of Romeo and Juliet.

I should have kept my big muse shut.

Once I said it, I had to do it. ( I strive to always do what I say I am going to.)

I tried to use the excuse of not having the time to find and prepare a Shakespeare monologue. Then I harkened back to the last twenty years or so of my life which included several classes in performance, some that I attended and some that I taught.  Then some weisenheimer, probably one of my former students, reminded me that I should always be prepared and as I professional, shouldn’t I always have a Shakespearean monologue ready to go?

I hate it when they pay attention only to zing me later.

So I psyched myself up (not out, for an exciting change) polished my monologue and got my act and clothes together.

I am one of those people who is a firm believer in dressing well for an audition.  It’s shows respect for the director.

As I was contemplating my heap of make-up (I have a lot of make-up for someone who doesn’t really go anywhere.) I wondered if I should wear my glasses or contacts.

At this point in my career, most directors realize that what they see is what they get, a chunky  middle-aged chick with pretty good skin, so it doesn’t really matter and the choice was up to me.   Then I had to decide how well I wanted to see.  (The right contact lens with the correct prescription is slightly torn on the edge and feels a little pokey. I have a spare right lens that’s a little off, but not pokey. The left lens is actually ok.)   My glasses look great, but I don’t feel fantastic performing in them and if there’s a lot of movement, I don’t want them to fly off. (I realize that no one is going to ask me to do a tumbling pass, nor am I going to volunteer to attempt this, so I probably could have just worn the glasses.)

Anyway, I went with the non-pokey, slightly worse vision. I auditioned. I did my monologue.  I found my light. I took direction and didn’t  blow any lines.  I read a scene a couple of times.

The director didn’t barf or cough or otherwise voice any displeasure.

I feel pretty good about it.

I realize that if I am cast, I will have to leave the house more often. I think the pants are negotiable.

Leave a Reply

