It’s Brain Day! or thoughts left sticking to the bottom, part 1

Published July 27, 2013 by Lynda Christine Rodriguez

I think this is going to be a two-parter because I had something truly touching and warm to say, but then I got distracted by itunes, so I’m sure that later on I will realize that I left something out, so let’s consider this the beginning.

Ten years ago today I had a hemorrhagic stroke. This excitement added a little zest, zip and zing into what was already a truly crappy summer.  If you  are having such a rough time that  a week long coma is the best way out of it, you are not doing a good job with your life.

I have been ruminating about the events of that day and of the last ten years and while I was thinking/trying to lull myself into a nap, I was notified that an actor friend of mine, Ryan Roach, had a stroke early this morning and is not expected to recover.

Ryan and I are the same age.

It gives me a moment of Keanu “whoa”, because it makes me realize that things could easily have been very different. I want to believe that Ryan will make it.

If I had a massive stroke today, I don’t know what I would choose.  At this point, I don’t know if I’ve done enough to redeem myself for the extra bit of time that I got.

Given the choice, I’m not sure.

It’s a puzzler.

Actor Boy is hear to celebrate with me and it’s helping  me not focus on the what I don’t haves, like my husband and my best friend.  I have my Actor boy, my mom, my dad and my brother.

Thus far I trotted Actor Boy out to be stared at by the folk who usually share my Saturdays and we met my mom for an early movie.

I had a cold coffee beverage and some baked cheetos. Later on I will be meeting my parents and my brother for a lush dinner.

I have prayed for Ryan and entered a plea or two on his behalf with the universe.

I will be doing the best I can to focus on the bright side and not be a downer on the what I don’t haves.

And there will be vodka (premium, because, what am I? A savage.)

And there will probably be more writing.

Hang in there Ryan, one more year. I will if you will.

Leave a Reply

