Nargl is a perfectly cromulent word

Published August 2, 2013 by Lynda Christine Rodriguez

I have been coining a lot of words that have the very satisfying combination of the “R” “G” and “N” sounds.  I think Nargl is actually a J.K Rowling word and cromulent is a Matt Groenig)

Actor Boy went back to NYC today. I have been a little off my game because a) I feel like I am on the verge of some ginormous breakdown, but frankly, it’s just too damn hot, and b) Actor Boy has been here and I’ve wanted to spend my productive and awake time with him.

Anyway, I’m more or less back into the word now.

I am continuing to apply to jobs, and am discovering that many of our school districts have diabolically difficult websites.  One in particular kept trying to turn my MA in Performing Arts into a Master’s Degree in Physics, and insisted that I didn’t have a Master’s Degree in Education; I was a certified Educational Aide.   I decided that since it is indeed too hot for an Ugly Public Meltdown, I will finish the online application at a later date.

This application required that I answer the question, “How would you inspire a passion for learning?”

Here’s my answer

Igniting a passion for learning is best accomplished by helping a student find the connection between their interests and skills and their future.  Many students feel that education simply fills the “Because”, as in “Things are this way because . . . .”  My goal is to help a student discover the “How” and the “Why”.  This creates intellectual curiosity which, in turn, will ignite the passion for learning.

Not bad for a Physicist who wants to aide in education.

BTW, there’s new content on my web page

Why I write

http://www.ellesview.com/docs/Why%20I%20write.pdf

and

The Santos Family Chronicles

http://www.ellesview.com/docs/The%20Santos%20Family%20Chronicles.pdf

Both of these pieces will be featured in the Langdon Review of the Arts in Texas

 

Leave a Reply

