He’d tip his hat to you but he hasn’t got a hat (or thumbs for that matter.)

Published August 5, 2013 by Lynda Christine Rodriguez

I have a very odd life.( I know everyone is reeling with shock and surprise)

One of my very favorite text books (I know, I’m a huge nerd.) is A Cultural History of Theater by Jack Watson.  It demonstrates how theater and arts are indicative of the time and place from which they emerged.

Things just don’t poop into being or pop out of a vacuum. (Even though you couldn’t tell from my carpets, I know what a vacuum is)

So now I’m going to weird up an intellectual statement by once again invoking Hugh Manatee.  I’m taking the very long way to make my point. It’s the stories that make things interesting, otherwise, what’s the point?

Hugh and his sister Hue sit on top of the DVD’s on the shelf in the living room. They are very polite, as I understand most manatees are.  (Have you ever had one cut in line in front of you at Starbucks or talk loud at the movies or pay with pennies in the express lane at the grocery store.  No. Because they are polite.)

I spend a good portion of my non-writing time watching various shows on the Netflix or the Hulu. I am teaching myself to crochet, so I do that while watching.

My tragic flaw is that I can’t do just one thing at a time.

Hugh feels like a bit of a celebrity today because of yesterday’s blog.  He has hinted that he might like a hat. (The platypus has a poncho, so why not a hat for Hugh Manatee?)

This long insane story made me think of the old Warner Brothers’ cartoon in which two puppies,(I think?) are singing the song “I’d tip my hat to you . . . ”

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q_K1Vju0r6Q

Then I read the Huffington Post and started laughing maniacally because I thought of Gretchen Weiner trying to make Fetch happen.

Making a hat for Hugh Manatee will be the least crazy thing I do today.

Leave a Reply

