Sometimes I really know who I am

Published August 11, 2013 by Lynda Christine Rodriguez

I took the SAT and I actually enjoyed it. (I know, NERD!)  I did everything I said I was going to do and double checked my work, and caught three mistakes. I wrote a rough draft of the essay portion and kept it because it kept me from cracking myself up.  The head gnome and time weasels behaved themselves.

I wrote down the things that had the potential for hilarity.

These were actual answers : Horrible Intensities, Incomprehensible Realities; Historical Monstrosities.

They were in relation to a short piece that was an adult’s reflection on a field trip to the planetarium.  My take on the whole thing was the author seemed to be having some kind of breakdown  as he realized the enormity of the universe while trying to ignore the rustling of potato chip bags.

I actually get that.   I have had  a freak out over a large concept  in tandem with a minor annoyance.

The essay portion asked me to discuss the concept of competition as the key to discuss.

I started with the interpretation of the Darwinian concept of the survival of the fittest.  It seems to me that it can be interpreted to mean that whoever gets their fastest, wins.  I  believe that whoever gets to finish, wins.    I then went on to say that my teaching experience has led me to the conclusion that students who measure their own success against their own achievements rather than comparing themselves to others.

Yes, I realize that observation blows the whole concept of standardized testing out of the water.

This job is for test prep.

O

Leave a Reply

