Thanks Janis!

Published August 22, 2013 by Lynda Christine Rodriguez

The Song Me and Bobby McGee was written by Kris Kristofferson and Fred Foster. The song has a crazy, convoluted story behind it. (This. I. Love.)  Kristofferson relays the whole story here: http://performingsongwriter.com/kris-kristofferson-bobby-mcgee/. It’s interesting to me because I love this song and I love Janis Joplin.  I owe both of these loves to my mother who was fond of the album Pearl. (Writer Chick Fun Fact: The first song I ever sang was Mercedes Benz. I think I was three.)

Today’s topic of discussion was going to be “Freedom’s just another word for nothing left to lose.” (For those of you that don’t know, that is a lyric from Me and Bobby McGee by Miss Janis. Now buy it on the itunes and get yerself some musical education you cretin!)   I am thinking about that because I’m trying to be positive and in addition to looking on the bright side of job violence, I realize that I am in the unique position of having the kind of freedom that having absolutely nothing left to lose.  Seriously, what’s the worst that’s going to happen? Will I lose my job? Will I lose my husband? Will I lose my best friend?

I know I shouldn’t tempt fate but it is empowering. I’m not entirely fearless. Tomorrow is my weigh in day at Weight Watchers. That’s scary.

Because that is something I do have left to lose.

And we’re back.

Leave a Reply

