Fate (and s%^)

Published August 30, 2013 by Lynda Christine Rodriguez

I had an interesting neurological encounter this morning.  (Am I the only one to whom this happens? See what I did with that correct grammar?)

I was reviewing the list of presentations for next week’s Langdon Review weekend. One of my co-contributor’s to the Landon Review of the Arts in Texas, Larry E. Fink,  is presenting this : There are strong connections between flânerie (the act of extended, observant strolling in an urban environment) and the practice of street photography. Flânerie is usually associated with writers—often, in Paris—and their efforts to fuel their creativity. This PowerPoint talk, illustrated with images by famous street photographers (and some of Larry’s), will explore similarities between the writer’s and the photographer’s efforts to reap a harvest of art from flânerie.

Now this is the kind of thing I truly appreciate. I often seek to fuel my creativity with wandery thought.  I did not realize there was a fancy sounding name for it. Now I am starting to wonder if I can get some kind of research grant to actually get paid to research the people in my neighborhood. I truly want to know Who Are the People in My Neighborhood? I’ll even sing the song.

Anyway, while I was pondering this, I felt a neuron in my brain sidle over to another neuron and they had a conversation.

“Hey that flanerie thing sounds interesting.”

“Yeah, it really does.  Hey I wonder if that’s where Flannery O’Connor got her name?”

“I think that’s her real name.”

“But you know what I mean, right? She writes about the average folk, true those folk are usually demented and weird, but they’re not nobility.”

“Yes! And if it’s her real name, wouldn’t it mean that some force of fate is at work? ”

Then the neurons nodded wisely to each other and one of them sent  a neurintern. (neuron intern) to go check the facts.

Her full name is Mary Flannery O’Connor.

Now the neurons moved a little faster than that but the weird part is that could actually feel the thought process at work.

Leave a Reply

