Rants in waiting (but not in my pants)

Published September 3, 2013 by Lynda Christine Rodriguez

So ever since the middle of January, when the first shoe dropped out of the sky and kicked me so hard I to shake my head until my eyes googlied themselves back into place (Googlied- the act of eyes to roll about. Origin-Unknown Example- Cookie Monster’s eyes googlied at the smell of fresh cookies baking. ) I have been keeping a notebook of thoughts that overwhelm me in a random fashion when I am trying to relax. I use different colored inks so I can tell where one rant ended and the next began.

It’s interesting to see what strikes me as interesting or thought provoking. There is one thread that I keep trying to avoid because I think I have kicked it around a number of times. But, as a researcher, I know that things become emergent for a reason and you might as well pick it up and see what happens.

Thoughts aren’t like tarantulas.

Don’t pick those up.  But I digress.

I have been watching a lot of documentaries. The Netflix kicked out A place at the table. The opening song was dreary and sort of off-putting, but the narrator began to talk about food insecurity and that intrigued me.

Now, my First World brain (and thighs) think of food insecurity as the link between something yummy  and the amount of diet and exercise and I guilt I would have to endure to pretend I never partook of said yumminess.

No. That’s not it at all.

Food insecurity is literally not knowing where your next meal is coming from.

It’s a very hard concept to grasp, particularly when we are the richest country in the world. It’s insane to think that there are people going hungry when we throw away tons of food every day.

I could scream about that topic for days. But that doesn’t do any good.

What resonates with me is the perspective of a teacher in rural Colorado who noticed that one of her students was losing focus and was having difficulty staying on task. The child was hungry. Both parents worked but could not make enough money to keep their children fed.    The teacher became actively involved with the  local food bank. If this were a story, there would be some exciting heartfelt ending like the girl grows up and  becomes the heart surgeon who later saves this teachers life.

But there is no ending at this point.

Another thought that resonates with me is Jeff Bridges made a point that while charity is great, please give to charities and food banks, but it’s not a solution. The US doesn’t subsidize the defense programs with charities. What do they subsidize? Corn, Wheat, soy. All of the things that go into processed foods.

That’s why there is a link between food insecurity and obesity.

Madness? Not really here’s an excerpt

Limited Resources and Lack of Access to Healthy, Affordable Foods

Low-income neighborhoods frequently lack full-service grocery stores and farmers’ markets where residents can buy a variety of fruits, vegetables, whole grains, and low-fat dairy products.24,25 Instead, residents – especially those without reliable transportation – may be limited to shopping at small neighborhood convenience and corner stores, where fresh produce and low-fat items are limited, if available at all. One of the most comprehensive reviews of U.S. studies examining neighborhood disparities in food access found that neighborhood residents with better access to supermarkets and limited access to convenience stores tend to have healthier diets and reduced risk for obesity.

When available, healthy food is often more expensive, whereas refined grains, added sugars, and fats are generally inexpensive and readily available in low-income communities.27,28,29,30,31 Households with limited resources to buy enough food often try to stretch their food budgets by purchasing cheap, energy-dense foods that are filling – that is, they try to maximize their calories per dollar in order to stave off hunger. While less expensive, energy-dense foods typically have lower nutritional quality and, because of overconsumption of calories, have been linked to obesity.When available, healthy food – especially fresh produce – is often of poorer quality in lower income neighborhoods, which diminishes the appeal of these items to buyers.

Low-income communities have greater availability of fast food restaurants, especially near schools. These restaurants serve many energy-dense, nutrient-poor foods at relatively low prices.

You can check the whole thing out here

http://frac.org/pdf/frac_brief_understanding_the_connections.pdf

 

I am still trying to put things together for myself and I would complain about my large behind, which will slow me down in the zombie apocalypse, but will allow me to pull a plow in that first nuclear winter .

I don’t feel  like complaining anymore.

But I will watch another documentary.

 

Leave a Reply

