Curiouser and curiouser.

Published September 9, 2013 by Lynda Christine Rodriguez

Statistics are scary, especially when they are saying that a large percentage of minority middle school age children are functionally illiterate. I don’t understand. I have a number of friends whose children are just starting school. They are dissatisfied with the quality of education that their children are getting.   There are so many questions that I have to do research to form the questions. I love to learn and I love to teach. I acknowledge my failings. I truly want to teach. I am not certified. It is cost prohibitive for me to seek alternative certification at this time. (It will cost me upwards of 5K to start the process. I am not a science or math teacher, so Theatre and English are not on the priority list.)  It doesn’t really matter in the now.  I want to know what can be done right now. So I need to address the questions right now. I want to find the best way to make the powers that be, and no, I haven’t done the research to find out who that be, exactly, but I will. I want someone who can do something to feel the abject panic I feel when I learn about the state of education right now. Most of my information is coming from independent research and documentaries. I understand that I have the kind of personality that is prone to panic.   Hence, the research to make me calm down enough to formulate the kinds of questions that I need to ask.

I will include what prompted the specific question and document where necessary.

Does the system protect academic failure?  ( Documentary The Lottery)

What I know from my personal experience:

Many schools are “teaching to the test”. This means that the primary educational goal for the schools is for the maximum number of students to pass whatever Standardized test that is in vogue at the time.   (I make it abundantly clear that I think that standardized tests are proof that Evil walks among us.) Standardized tests do not allow for intellectual curiosity or individuality.  I think this is why students lose the love of learning.       I have seen instructions on tests that say “choose the most right answer.” What the sweaty hell does that mean? If it makes my well-read, slighted dented head go all wobbly; imagine how the average eighth grade student must feel. (And take into consideration that an eighth grade student in a public school is not likely to be well-fed and well-rested.  Many inner-city students also have social crises that they are concerned with. (I haven’t checked the current statistics, but twenty years ago when I started to teach gang violence near the schools had gotten so bad that the Police Department negotiated a truce between the major gangs during school hours. When I started teaching, there was a special school for pregnant students. The school was for 6-12 grades. )

All of that was just for the first question.

And I don’t have an answer. But I’m working on it.  But until then I will be ghost writing more romance stories,

I do have a sense of humor as does the universe.  I am very amused that I am in the plague equivalent of romantic love . (I’m not saying dried up, I’m saying  tumble weeds rolling by wolves howling waiting to nosh on my corpse while I feebly brush away the gnats provided by OkCupid and other dating sites.)  And while in the state, my only income is provided by ghostwriting romance short stories.

 

2 comments on “Curiouser and curiouser.

  • I stopped using okc a few weeks ago after one too many awkward dates lol. My coworker showed me cliqie.com and I’m a big fan of that over the others in terms of actually meeting people vs. just entertainment. It has a different approach that feels less sketchy cause you and your friends essentially act as “wingmen”. I like that it helps you find things to do too. Skout’s okay too, but still has it’s fair share of creepers

  • Leave a Reply

