Back again, back again, bloggity blog

Published September 24, 2013 by Lynda Christine Rodriguez

I don’t know if I have anything worthwhile to say today. I’m not sure I’m qualified to judge what is good or wordworthy (worth spending the words on. I just made that up. The next time you hear some weirdo, probably me, wasting time that you can never get back, you can tell them/me, that wasn’t wordworthy. Then direct them to my webpage www.ellesview.com. Unless, of course it’s me, because I know where it is.)

I am one story into a six story contract on this ghostwriting thing.   The story I just finished writing was uncomfortable, and almost painful, like candling your own ear. (I’m not at all suggesting anyone try that, I’m just trying to paint a wordworthy picture.) I sent it in, fully expecting to get an email filled with hysterical laughter and perhaps a curse put upon my head and a demand that I rewrite that monstrosity or surrender one of my diplomas.

The publisher loved it. In fact he said, “Thanks! Excellent story.”

Just what I needed, more proof that I have no idea what is happening around me.

So here I am on a Tuesday taking a survey of the world around me. I have already been out for the day. My errands are run. I need to figure out what to do next. It’s not that I don’t have plenty to do. There’s just varying levels of repugnance associate to each task.

My job now is to figure out where on the repugnance pyramid I want to find myself. (and other short stories by Jack Kerouac)

I’m also easily distracted. It took me about ten minutes to write that sentence, because when I was writing it, I remembered that I needed to scan the check I just received for payment on my house in NM.  Then I remembered that I needed to create an Excel file for the whole thing. Then I remembered that I had left tomatoes and bananas in the car (World’s Worst Stripper names.)  When I brought that in, I remembered that I also bought a bag of Chicago Mix popcorn. Then I got distracted by the Oriental Trading Company Catalog. (If you have never had the delight of that particular distraction, go to the website. It’s amazing and somehow comforting to know that there is a place where you can get glow in the dark bouncing eyeballs for less than 50 cents each.)

Then I got back to the sentence.  This is why I can’t get anything done. And I really need to. I watched a great documentary last night. (For those of you who are new to my shenanigans, I watch documentaries while I’m ghosting or editing the stories of which I’m not a big fan because I don’t want my brain to completely cave in. Also, if I drop dead of another stroke, I would hope that whoever finds my cat hair laden corpse will notice that I was watching some cerebral documentary and not waxing idiotic by writing a phrase like “Kaleidoscope of passion.” I actually wrote that and it was published in a story. )

The documentary was “Miss Representation” It’s about how women are depicted in the media and how women are underrepresented in positions of power.  It inspired me.

And I all I have done today is write about shopping and buy bananas.

Sigh

Leave a Reply

