Tough act to swallow

Published October 7, 2013 by Lynda Christine Rodriguez

 

I am having a really hard time today and I feel terrible for whining about my lack of motivation.

(But that’s not going to stop me.)

It’s my own fault, really. I set up the circumstances to ensure that I would have the Monday Crummies (World’s worst Quidditch Team)  Last week I had two really productive days of writing and one day of job interviews. Apparently I decided on some level that was absolutely all I needed to do.

I spent a day and a half finishing the new Stephen King book, Dr. Sleep. Two words-Awe.Some.

Then I went to see the closing performances of a local company’s Romeo and Juliet. Two words, Uh. Mazing.  I tamped back the post book, post great theater let down with bad TV and a mental inventory of what book I could read that would not pale in comparison.

Here’s how that turned out. I watched South Park and crocheted something that looked like a  Circus Peanut.

I am waiting to hear if I got the job for which I applied. The job sounds like a good fit for me, plus it pays me what I need to make to ensure financial security and it has benefits. It will involve me having to get a whole bunch of shots and inoculations so I guess if I am abducted by gorillas and taken to the Congo, I will be ok. (Yes, I did mean that kind of gorilla.)

Regardless of what happens job wise I am contractually obligated to write four more erotic romances in the next two weeks. I know I can do it, I even have story outlines.

It’s just so had to embrace the mundane after you’ve been exposed to brilliance.

Because that’s a problem.  It’s a tiny problem, but I’m going to focus on that one because it’s one I can fix by just sucking it up and doing it.

It’s the crunchy ordinary that makes us appreciate the smooth and creamy fantastic (World’s Worst Superhero)

For those of you playing the home game, I have made a total of five allusions or out and out references to candy in my writing today.  I wonder if I have low blood sugar or if Candy Crush Saga has completely taken over my life.

Leave a Reply

