Questions Asked

Published October 27, 2013 by Lynda Christine Rodriguez

Today is the day that I will set forth to play Stump the Chump with strangers. It’s not my intention to go out and piss people off, in fact, I’m not going to imbibe in excessive amounts of caffeine in order to prevent that very thing.  I have thought a lot about the questions that I am going to throw into the pool.

It is my understanding that the moderator will be given several questions by the attendees and will then select the question to throw out for discussion.

As of right this very minute, I am the only female. This would make some people nervous. I am not those people.  I am quite comfortable being the only female nerd in the herd. (That actually describes how I went through high school).

My questions:

Can we trust our own memories?  And for that matter, can we trust our own perception of things?

How do we discern what is real and what is not?

It is enough that we believe it to make it true?

Capgras syndrome is a neurological disorder in which the person does not recognize the people around them and becomes convinced that they are surrounded by impostors.

Revisionist historians are using newly discovered technologies to disprove previously accepted histories, such as George Washington chopping down the cherry tree when  no cherry trees were ever grown on his family’s land.

For many people that is not enough to disprove the generally accepted truth. In that case, memory builds its own reality.

What is wrong with education and how can it be fixed?

Is technology helping or harming our children?

I have a tendency to be inappropriate and to find things hilarious that no one else even understands. (Yesterday I was at the Walk to end Alzheimer’s. One of the speakers said “When I found out my husband had Alzheimer’s, I almost lost my mind.” Clearly she didn’t think that one through. I thought it was hysterical. I did not laugh out loud.)   I will try to curb my burbling laughter, but I’m not making any guarantees.

I will let you know how it turns out.

Leave a Reply

