A little Dis, some heartening.

Published November 6, 2013 by Lynda Christine Rodriguez

No matter how much you love your job, there’s always a day when you just don’t think you can face it.

Thought 1: I could say that I don’t have that problem because I don’t have what could technically be called a job.

According to Bing dictionary (and why would they lie to me? )

A job is:

  1. paid occupation: an activity such as a trade or profession that somebody does regularly for pay, or a paid position doing this
  2. task: something that remains to be done or dealt with
  3. assignment: an individual piece of work of a particular nature

So I guess I do have a job, I ghostwrite short stories for a set fee per story. I have a contract and I don’t get paid until I complete that task.

I am also still in the system at one school and when called upon, I complete a specific set of tasks for which I am compensated.

But it’s the regular part that I don’t quite have down yet.

Thought 2: For the most part I have what a lot of writers want: a place to write the tools and the time. It’s just me and Samantha in the house and there’s really not a  lot I have to accomplish outside of basic hygiene and cat maintenance. If I could stand my own stench and ignore the cat, I wouldn’t have to do very much at all.  (This is not a cry for help, I’m just making a point. I am bathing and leaving the house and exercising.)  Yet I am having a difficult time getting and maintaining the motivation to get the things on my list done. (It’s not a big list.)

I did see something interesting when I went out for a walk so I wouldn’t fuse to the couch like in the really grim episode of Nip/Tuck.

In the parking lot of Harbor Freight and Dollar General  there was a short length of plastic rope, a small cardboard box that used to contain condoms and an ice cream wrapper.

There’s either a story in that or maybe a police report.

 

 

Leave a Reply

