The bouillon cube of Humanity or Don’t Ig Knorr Me.) sorry, I couldn’t resist.

Published November 25, 2013 by Lynda Christine Rodriguez

As you may have noticed, or for the first time realized, sometimes my brain is a pan waiting for the ingredients to be chopped and prepared. (I have no idea what it is with the food metaphors today.)

When something new hits my brain (In a good way, not like the head-melty thing) it simmers and then turns into something either delicious or something a bit iffy that is consumed anyway because I’m trying to maximize my food dollar.

I mentioned some of the thoughts that are being processed for serving and I wonder if they are all related. I have gotten as far as the introduction of Scatter, Adapt, and Remember. How humans will survive a mass extinction. To be honest, this may be as far as I can get. The concept makes me a little squiffy, and I think I have made it abundantly clear that I am dangling pretty close to the edge right now and don’t need anything that will make me totter off into God knows what.

The introduction mentions the number of extinction level events that the planet has already suffered and survived and sets up the information about our impending doom.

It’s not really a knee slapping, fun filled ride as it proposes what we should do to ensure the survival of the human race.  Part of me wonders if we deserve this information. I’m not sure if we are worthy of it.

Yes, I will be a fun addition to anyone’s holiday event.

Which gets me to the point: Scatter Adapt and Remember or (SCAR, It’s amazing how these things come together.) basically says that as long as the basics of our people/ humanity/culture survive, so shall we all. (I provided the high-falutin’ language.)

This directly relates to the other thing I’ve been trying to do: Finding the overlap between what we expect our kids to know and the literature that is recommended for their grade level. Is it too much? Is it enough? Is it pandering? Why doesn’t pandering mean to put on a costume and act like a panda?

I am using the “What your sixth grader needs to know” as a resource. This spells out the basic skills your sixth grader should have. Because I am a big nerd, I also have the sixth grade level reader that that is put out by the same publisher.

I am doing this because I want to see what culture and skills students at the exact center of their education have and are expected to have (That was a really awkward sentence. I’m aware.)

This leads to the whole Joe Kennedy/Lucifer partnership conspiracy.

I think it’s all about survival. What wouldn’t you do for your children? Will they have something cool to read while you’re doing it?

Tune in tomorrow for the next episode when I may actually run amok. There will be pictures.

Leave a Reply

