All I need is a title, (and maybe this thermos.)

Published December 26, 2013 by Lynda Christine Rodriguez

There’s nothing like trying to cram two pop culture illusions that probably no one will get into one sentence.  The surfeit of cookies and other stuff yesterday is causing me to be a little slow today. I did finish one story and have two more to crank out in the next few days.

My schedule in the new year will be hurried at best and hellish at worst.  My three part time jobs will involve adjusting schedules to teach a minimum of two days a week plus 19 hours at the other regular job (I use the term “regular” to mean on other people’s schedules. I do not at all mean to imply that the job will be boring or soul robbing. The other people who work there are on the groovy side of awesome.)  The scheduled work means that I must stick to a 1,000 word a day writing schedule. (Six 5000 word stories per month =30,000 words. 30,000 words in approximately 30 days= 1,000 words a day. I will be using President’s day to work around the February differential.)

It does boggle my mind just a little more than a bit. It also makes me tired and want to curl up on the sofa and suck my thumb. I am finished with most of my writing tasks for today which involved me using metaphors for various body parts and simple actions and prosing up the basic ideas of romance. It makes me feel a little itchy.

My sis-in-law advised me to stick to a strict schedule so that I will be able to start writing and promoting things for myself and to stop throwing my words to the winds of the freelance world (I can’t stop prosing!)  She is a fairly successful fantasy and romance writer. She thinks that I should start putting more things out and creating a stronger presence in the literary world.

I would love to do that, but I don’t really know where to start.

Several people I know have mentioned that a memoir/collection of essays based on my existing blogs might be a good place to begin. I’m really not sure I’m that interesting (I am afraid to say that out loud, because seriously, there is only one thing left I have to lose and I don’t need another thump on the head from the universe just because I’m funny when I’m raging.)

I do have a lot of stories to tell, some of which have been told through my blog here and on a Myspace blog. I suspect trying to retrieve the two hundred or so blogs off of Myspace will be an exciting, thrill packed story in and of itself.

I don’t know what I should call it.

Perhaps “Evidence for the Commitment Hearing”

or

“I was headed in a completely different direction and somehow wound up here.”

I did start this blog wanting to eventually veer back into something socially relevant like something happening with a Kardashian juxtaposed with the Huffington great series of essays on the American Working Poor.  I would, of course provide pithy examples of both sides, like say, the fact that Kim is planning another multi-million dollar ceremony with her egomaniacal baby daddy while there are children who are delighted to have the opportunity to dig through the discarded remnants of an evicted family’s life. (Ok, that was in an HBO Documentary, but it is related.)

I was planning on doing that, but somehow wound up here.

Maybe that’s the title.

 

Leave a Reply

