Almost there

Published December 31, 2013 by Lynda Christine Rodriguez

I have heard it said that the way you spend New Year’s Eve is how you will spend the rest of the year. Last year I went to see  EH’s band play at a fancy restaurant. I was driving myself, so I didn’t  drink,opting instead for a fancy coffee and a yummy dessert. Every member of the band greeted me pleasantly. EH kissed me at midnight.

I found out mere weeks later that it was all an EVENING OF LIES! (maniacal cackle. It adds humor and lessens the sting.)

This year I am spending New Year’s Eve with friends who are having a board game party with/for their kids. I suspect this will not be an evening of lies and that positive energy will be a nice boost for the new year.

I do hate to reflect, but I feel that I must. I actually don’t remember if I had any resolutions or specific goals. It all kind of washes away when I think about the the things that actually happened.  The recent of events of my life have made me fearless.

There were some great things; I got to go on many adventures with my mother, and I got to see Actor Boy finish his program and NYCDA. When I finish the current story for the client, I will have written 150,000 words of short story. ( I am the Proust of Erotic Romance.)  I never thought I was capable.  I have lost two lbs in 6 months. For someone with a history of yo-you dieting and the metabolism of a hibernating bear, this is kind of spectacular. Many of my achievements this year involved me NOT doing things, like not punching people in the face when they so desperately needed it. Not screaming, “Bitch Cat! Son of a Whore” whenever I felt like it.  Applying for a job on the average of three per week, and hearing nothing for three months and choosing NOT to lie in the street to wait for the next ridiculous thing to happen.

I have mostly been surviving, which is a pretty big achievement.

If you have done the same, reach around and give yourself a big ol’ pat on the back. Drink a toast to yourself.  Eat a cookie and enjoy every bite.

And then scream something that has meaning only to you.  You may use “Bitch Cat! Son of a Whore!” if you like.

It’s a refreshing way to ring in the new year.

 

 

Leave a Reply

