What day is it anyway?

Published January 2, 2014 by Lynda Christine Rodriguez

My sense of reality is kind of foggy today. (Well, everyday really, but the polite thing is not to mention it.)  The whole holiday in the middle of the week thing has seriously thrown off my schedule of nothing at all. (I’m not being sarcastic, it actually does confusing.)

It is my goal to blog about something interesting every day this year. I say “goal” because if I resolve to do it, my computer will blow up and disable my hands, forcing me to try and write with my feet or mash the keyboard with a dialing wand and it will really slow down my blogging.

So I am setting a goal.

My interesting day

I like to start my day by listening to something informative, since I can’t blast news programs at my head, I listen to podcasts. Today I listened to “Stuff to Blow Your Mind: Normalcy Bias or Psychogenic Death.” It was very informative and thought provoking (and you know how my thoughts feel about being provoked!)  Essentially there is a third component to the Fight or Flight response: The  weigh your options response. Apparently having the ability to remove yourself from the immediate disaster so you can think  a response through may actually improve your odds of surviving a disaster.  If you have been through a trauma or disaster your chances of processing a disaster response are greater.  If you are pre-disastered, you expect things to get kerfluey. Or as one of the hosts put it, “You’re ready to deal with the possibility of a giant lizard stomping down the street.”

(http://www.stufftoblowyourmind.com/podcasts/normalcy-bias-psychogenic-death/)

My lizard recognition abilities set me up for a great morning

I had the great fortune to be invited to do storytime at the Library. Reading stories to children always makes me happy because a) it’s fun and where else can you speak in rhyme while over enunciating without someone asking you if your caretaker knows you’re missing and b) little kids don’t care how nuts you are.

I prepared my two favorite story lady books, “Click Clack Moo, cows that type” and “Fox in Socks”  Both stories were well received. My brain only felt a little dented and a good time was had by all.  After that big rush,  I sat down to work on the last story of this set. I’m still only about half-way through it.  I did get a lot done. It struck me as odd that fifteen minutes after I was making cow, moo an clack sounds I was working on an Erotic Romance story. An hour after that I was taking a drug test for one of the upcoming jobs.

Positive things:I can recognize disaster in the form of big reptiles, I can read about the Tweedle Beetle Battle (In a puddle with a paddle) out loud without any unfortunate mistakes especially when dealing with Luke Luck and the Duck at the Lake and that it helps to be flexible because you never know when you will have to test your drugs or make a tumbling pass down the hall or greet people with a smile.

It’s going to be an interesting year.

Happy Happy Everyone!

Leave a Reply

