Do-be do-be-to-do

Published January 4, 2014 by Lynda Christine Rodriguez

Lots and lots going on. I actually greeted the world with a smile and  excitement. I hope I can keep this momentum going. I’m fairly certain my joy is due to the fact that I am back on a regular schedule, getting 8 or more hours of sleep a night and getting 75 % of my nutrition from food with that with two or fewer ingredients.  (I know!Imagine!)   Today I’m doing a lot of my prep work for the week. I’m trying to squeak in some cleaning and ironing and the like because Actor Boy will be here next week (!!!!!) and I don’t want him to have to crawl through mountains of clean laundry to find a place to sleep. Also, the dishwasher died and although it’s under warranty, I don’t want to have to fool with the whole thing, but since he’s going to be here, maybe he can hang around while the repair guy comes. (That thought actually occurred to me as I was typing this.)

My favorite thing on my list today is to put moustaches on all of my pens.

That’s not nearly as nuts as it sounds.  A useful tip from the online substitute training that only sort of made my brain hurt is to put together a sub-tub. (That’s what I’m calling it, even though it implies that there is a tub above it or that it is filling in while another tub takes a personal day. Now I’m wondering what a rubber maid storage tub would do with its free time.)

The tub should contain extra school supplies and things to help you do impromptu lesson planning.  I have ordered pencils that say”I belong to Ms. Rodriguez”, so I know which pencils are mine when I lend them out. I have duct tape printed with moustaches that I am going to use to label my pens for the same reason.

I’m sort of doing this because it’s fun, but a tiny part of me is doing it so I can collect all potential weapons at the end of the day. I hate that I have to think that way, but no school is safe.

And my something of interest for today: I think I may have invoked vortex.  I rarely use the word, but since I used it yesterday, I have heard it use in several news stories because the US is about to have record low temperatures caused by a Polar Vortex.  I wonder if I can blame my kitchen floor on the record lows.

It is 70 pleasant degrees here. That is vaguely unsettling.

Leave a Reply

