But what’s the ratio?

Published May 12, 2014 by Lynda Christine Rodriguez

The following quote is brought to you by the good people of Wikipedia, so I guess you folk in the intraweb

There’s a sucker born every minute” is a phrase most likely spoken by David Hannum, in criticism of both P. T. Barnum, an American showman of the mid 1800s, and his customers. The phrase is often credited to Barnum himself. It means “Many people are gullible, and we can expect this to continue.”

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/There%27s_a_sucker_born_every_minute

As is this quote

 Andy Warhol, who included the words “In the future, everyone will be world-famous for 15 minutes” in the program for a 1968 exhibition of his work at the Moderna Museet in StockholmSweden.[1]Photographer Nat Finkelstein claims credit for the expression, stating that he was photographing Warhol in 1966 for a proposed book. A crowd gathered trying to get into the pictures and Warhol supposedly remarked that everyone wants to be famous, to which Finkelstein replied, “Yeah, for about fifteen minutes, Andy.”

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fifteen_minutes_of_fame

I have also heard that everyone has a story to tell.

I know who I am. I know I am terrible at math, so I can’t really figure out an equation of how many stories need to be told, but I do know that for every person who has fifteen minutes of fame, there will be at least fifteen suckers to fantasize about them.

I have of late, but wherefore know not lost all of my ability to give the teeny tiny furry crack of a rat’s behind about things that are happening around me or to me. I think it’s the painkillers, either that or my dosage needs to be adjusted. I think my not giving a crapesque attitude kept me from freaking out when the Big Boss told me I didn’t get the job but that I will still be employed for at least another month. I did droop a bit, but actually surprised myself by not making the whimper that I know was swirling around in my psyche.  As I have said, It’s beyond me. I know better than to make plans. One of the things that has fallen by the wayside is my focus.  I have to get it back. I have had a number of people (Ok, five, what? five is a number) ask me if I have ever considered writing a memoir. Does my story need to be told? I know at least fifteen people will read it.  Stephen King (All hail the master) says that there are watershed moments in history. Such as the Kennedy Assassination. Webster defines watershed as a moment when important changed happened. I have searched for the origins of this phrase and that perhaps it’s related to the story of Noah or of the great flood that has been recorded in the ancient histories of many areas of the world.

But isn’t every moment in someone’s life a watershed moment. Think about it. Whatever you’re doing right now is changing what you are about to do. Is it going to be a story moment? That’s up to you and the fifteen people to decide.

I was going to write about whatever I recorded, but I left the recorder at home. Blarg.

Did I have less interesting conversations because I knew I wasn’t being recorded? Maybe.  Did it change anything?

So maybe I have something to write about.

But I need fifteen people to tell me.

 

Leave a Reply

