Shudders (Nod Jusd for Wintows anymore)

Published May 19, 2014 by Lynda Christine Rodriguez

Can you crack dhe cote?

This is what I meant to post Friday, but then things got weird-why did I expect anything different?
My days range from weird-crazy and from interesting-how the hell did this happen. I started out this morning in a reasonably good mood. This mood was compromised when it occurred to me that I was not going to have time to do any of the things I need to do. I stewed over this on the way to work and by the time I got there I couldn’t think of anything nicer to say than “Suck Me.” Not a good idea for someone who is about to give a tour to 74 kindergarteners.

So the tour went great, but I can’t play with kidlings all day. I don’t have the energy and I seem to be unable to keep my cool for longer than four hours at a time.

At lunch I glanced at the news, because I sort of like knowing what’s happening in the world. (I say sort of, because they are things I would be happy to run around in ignorance of, but I do want to know if the all of the polar ice caps have melted and if I should be expecting to see a polar bear on a surf board hoping to find a deal on bear chow at Costco.)
Some of the information I am choosing to ignore is the fact that people seem shocked and amazed that racism still exists! (I know, the horror.)  Many people are getting poorer and hungrier. Giant chunks of the earth are shifting into fun new shapes, but no one really seems to care, not even when most of us are slammed in the face with the realities of ecological situation. The earth is trying to reject us like a bad cow heart. Remember you heard it hear first.

But then my afternoon turned around a bit. A high school student came in to the library and wanted help on researching her project on Elizabeth Bathory.

Off the top of my head and without breaking a sweat I was able to tell her where to find the film “The Countess” on the Netflix and while I typed, looking for resources that might physically be on the premises, we chatted about the rarity of female serial killers.  We both commented that most kill for revenge.  As my fingers flew through various databases finding her links to several different websites and history blogs, I wondered if Elizabeth Bathoury’s vanity can be construed as revenge. Possibly, if we knew what created it.
From the good people at Wikipedia:

Countess Elizabeth Báthory de Ecsed (Báthory Erzsébet in HungarianAlžbeta Bátoriová in Slovak; 8 August 1560 – 21 August 1614) was a countess from the renowned Báthory family of nobility in the Kingdom of Hungary. She has been labelled the most prolific female serial killer in history, though the precise number of her victims is debated. Báthory and four collaborators were accused of torturing and killing hundreds of girls between 1585 and 1610.[1]Despite the evidence against Elizabeth, her family’s influence kept her from facing trial. She was imprisoned in December 1610 within Csejte CastleUpper Hungary, now in Slovakia, where she remained immured in a set of rooms until her death four years later.

The stories of her serial murders and brutality are verified by the testimony of more than 300 witnesses and survivors as well as physical evidence and the presence of horribly mutilated dead, dying and imprisoned girls found at the time of her arrest.[2] Stories which ascribe to her vampire-like tendencies (most famously the tale that she bathed in the blood of virgins to retain her youth) were generally recorded years after her death and are considered unreliable. Her story quickly became part of national folklore, and her infamy persists to this day. [3] She is often compared with Vlad III the Impaler of Wallachia, on whom the fictional Count Dracula is partly based, and has been nicknamed The Blood Countess and Countess Dracula.

What does say about me that I can go from surly to annoyed to thrilled in a matter of hours and the only thing that has made me go zowie this week is a serial killer?
 

Leave a Reply

