mind of a goldfish; voice of a bullfrog

Published May 24, 2014 by Lynda Christine Rodriguez

I seem to have lost my voice. (Literally, not a pretentious “I have lost my muse”sort of way) I actually feel ok, my throat is a little sore and I have a bad case of the don’t give a crap syndrome, but I can’t blame that or link it to the no voice thing.

It’s frustrating for two reasons 1) There’s nothing I can do about it and I LOVE being powerless. 2) I have tendency to to advance panic about everything and I keep thinking about the last time I lost my voice.

When my head blew up, the main thing that freaked me out was hearing my voice go dead and flat. I had absolultely no control of the volume and tone of what came out of my mouth.  I am fortunate that my training and talents allow me to tackle and execute accents.  It is a nightmare for an actor who is already nervous and a little terrified that an audience member may just pop a cap in the director’s ass at curtain call to not be able to control their voice.  (To be fair, the capping might have made the entire weekend for me.)

So now that I can’t control the sound,I’m trying to hide from the underlying fear that it’s not going to get better. Because that would be impossible.  Except I stand on the precipice of the impossible most of the time.  Bleah. That was almost pretentious.  I apologize.

So is the phrase “Kimye is married” grammatically correct? I saw that in the Huffington post. I am focusing on  that so I don’t scream about the fountains of money that rained all over that event that could have been put to much better use. Except, you know, I can’t scream.

Leave a Reply

