Pretty? Sure.

Published June 6, 2014 by Lynda Christine Rodriguez

A patronette of the library (small female patron), let’s call her Czarina, was having a very important and vexing problem yesterday. She asked for my advice. I am never one to turn away a child in distress, so I agreed, hoping that this wasn’t going to turn out to be some kind of underwear thing.

It wasn’t. It was a mostly benign issue that came about because of  one girl wasn’t talking to another so Czarina invited the girl to sit with them and there was a minor seating issue that got resolved by one girl sitting on the other’s lap. Some folk looked askance at this and Czarina was concerned that she had done the wrong thing.

I assure her that she had in no way done anything wrong and that she should just relax and ignore people, and everyone would forget all about it soon.

Remember when things were that important?

It made me think about what I valued at that age.

When I was in the seventh grade I was moderately crushed by what a number of different people thought of me. There was the boy that I had a huge crush on who basically told someone that I was too fat and ugly for him to consider “going” with. That was the moment that I actually had doubts about my appearance. I became incredibly paranoid and only wanted this particular boy’s approval. (Of course, he now looks a lot like the dad Dinosaur in the short-lived comedy of that name. He also looks like what Wyatt’s brother Chet turned into after Kelly LeBrock transformed him.)

I wish I had known how unimportant one idiot boy’s opinion was. It would have changed my life.

But then I see how obsessed the entire planet seems to be about beauty in all of it’s shapes and forms. There is this article

“Ten successful actors who aren’t very attractive.”

http://www.boxofficescoop.com/ten-successful-actors-who-arent-very-attractive/

You will notice that they haven’t included any ACTRESSES. I wonder why. Would the PR folk attack each other armed with bazookas that fire the entire eye make-up counter of MAC?  Would the lemonade-maple syrup-cayenne pepper-diet come back from wherever it has been?

I want to see the list of the truly hideous people who have had develop a personality and intellectual curiosity because they have better things to do than squash their fatty bits into shapewear and spackle over their enlarged pores so they could stand the scrutiny of people who have nothing better to do than make lists.

I have to go read something before I get any uglier.

 

Leave a Reply

