Method? Madness? are those the only choices?

Published July 25, 2014 by Lynda Christine Rodriguez

So my former boss commented yesterday, “People have lost their minds.”

He was referring to the madness that is occurring in national and international news. Planes can’t stay in the air, various extinction level events are in the works and people keep letting Sarah Palin talk.  I know that’s putting kind of a fine point on it, but I am with him 100 percent. I haven’t even looked  at the news today and I suspect what was true yesterday is true today.

I am still studying for the teaching certification exams.  I do have a job interview on Monday and a job fair on Wednesday.  I’m performing on Thursday and that’s mostly my week.

When I take study breaks, I have been reading about insane asylums and watching a bit of the second season of American Horror Story.

Interesting that my sense of relief comes from observing madness.

It makes me wonder if it is possible to be completely insane and be self-aware.  Does that self-awareness make you insane.

Sunday is Brain Day.  I have ruled Intensive Care for 11 years.  I know I am lucky; Ryan Roach, an incredibly talented actor and kind person had a stroke last year on the 10 year Brain Day.  He didn’t survive.

I don’t want to seem ungrateful; I am not entirely convinced that I didn’t actually die 11 years ago and this chunk of time is purgatory. I have put forth this theory before. I mentioned this to the ex-boss. He agreed that if I prove that I’m in purgatory, there is the strong chance of all of my current  reality will just poof out of existence.

Thus my dilemma.

When I was working on my Phenomenology project, using a grief study to teach Hamlet’s soliloquies, a question became emergent; what was the most blinding problem in the “To be or Not To be” soliloquy?  My answer was not  “What dreams may come”, it’s what dreams DO come.

Which Madness do you chose? The crazy you know or the one you don’t.”

This is why I need cartoons.

Leave a Reply

