Just the cheese, not my mind

Published August 3, 2014 by Lynda Christine Rodriguez

I did not completely lose the cheese last week, nor did I lose my mind.  It was a close call on both accounts.

Brain day passed by uneventfully, but considering it was the 11 th anniversary of a huge unplanned event , that’s probably better.  I did want a birthday do over, but the current financial and job situation didn’t lend the itself to the carousing. I sufficed with cinnamon rolls for breakfast and hamburgers and ice cream for lunch.

I had two job interviews and went to one job fair.  I don’t think it’s right to call something a “fair” unless there’s corndogs and maybe some trained animals .  (I think a roomful of jobless teachers deserve some distraction. They didn’t even have coffee.)

I still don’t have a job. I’m not going to officially panic until August the 14th. Why that day, you may ask? A representative from one school district said that they will be hiring up until that date.  Their teachers go back to school on the 18th.  I wonder if anyone else is as disturbed by that as I am.

What I learned this week:

I get a little punchy if  I arrive at a interview too early (who knew there was such a thing?) and the interviewer arrives late.  ( I didn’t say anything unfortunate, unlike that time at my UT interview. )

If I am tired, my left arm aches. I don’t know if it is because my brain is trying to keep it from clutching my shirt, or if it is an actual ache in the arm. (My left side suffered the most damage from the brain incident. I had left neglect for awhile and ever since then, my left arm will drift up and out of the way when I get extremely tired.  This rarely happens now.)

My filter has indeed come back. I spent so much time working from home that I got into the habit of blurting out expletives for punctuation and spice.  At one of interviews, I slammed the part of my hand I burned while making the cinnamon rolls. I did NOT scream “Bitch Cat. Son of a Whore!”. I am grateful for the return of the filter (World’s worse Sci-Fi story.)

If you are short, make friends with a tall person the moment you arrive at the job fair.  I couldn’t see a thing and had to rely on the kindness of strangers.  Since I teach an elective, I was not perceived as a threat and many people offered to help.

I am only a little frightened about the state of education. Apparently THIS particular state has at least 300 adults who have such a huge desire to teach that they altered their career paths and learned some new tricks and are willing to stand shoulder to elbow with strangers in order to smile and shake hands and not scream expletives with the district representative squeezes their hand right on the burny spot.

Good teachers are out there, people. Let’s give them jobs. And maybe a corndog.

Leave a Reply

