What it if it’s been nose hair all along?

Published August 18, 2014 by Lynda Christine Rodriguez

The part of my naivete that I miss the most is the complete and total belief in wishes. Now, I do have a certain amount of hope attached to birthday wishes and intense wants, but when I was younger I had complete faith in wishes made on falling stars, suddenly visible satellites, rings around the moon, blown dandelion fluff and lost eyelashes.

I know that the laws of statistics state that some wishes do come true and I certainly don’t want to blast anyone’s hopes and shatter dreams, but for every wish that comes true, a wish doesn’t happen.

I can’t help but wonder if we’ve been  misplacing our hopes. What if we’ve been trusting the wrong follicle? Stranger things have happened, most of in the last few months. Things are going kerfluey all over the place and I have already ranted and raved about Human Nature’s inability  to leave crap alone and stop wandering around forbidden caves and poking in hell mouths (Or is hells mouth?)  That stuff is happening and people look at me like I’m crazy when I mention that there are a certain number of things that I would like to do before the super-robots get us and we are fed to the aliens.

Why does that sound crazy?

I know that I’m a little frayed today because today is the day that teachers go back to school to prep for next week. I am at home, signing the final paperwork to end my marriage with the flick of a pen I got at a workshop a few years ago and a firm handshake. The only thing that made that less festive was the stale fiber one brownie I ate.

Trust me, these are not the last memories I want to have should the next knock I hear be the sound of the robots tripping over the trashcans at the foot of the driveway.

It’s not the craziest thing. But I guess “When you wish upon a nostril” doesn’t quite have the same ring to it.

But why are we listening to a cricket in top hat anyway?

Leave a Reply

