Masking anxiety with prairie dogs

Published August 24, 2014 by Lynda Christine Rodriguez

Tomorrow is the first day of school. I’m very excited and not a little overwhelmed. I was out running the last minute errands with my Amanda Friend because the teacher might need to have some basic supplies and something to eat for lunch. (I don’t think I will be able to trade a bag of frozen broccoli and five very old chocolate covered coffee beans for anything good.) On our way back  to my house, I mentioned to Amanda that I kind of achy, which I hope is due to anxiety and not some major impending attack (Because you know how my brain tends to spring that kind of thing on me. )

Amanda Friend mentioned that she and her sweetie AOG would  like to redo their lawn in Native Texas Grasses. I said, “That’s what, dirt and cactus?”  She said, yes, and that she would want to put in prairie dogs, too.

This got me going on the black footed ferret. I had a freelance gig writing about endangered species and discovered that they black footed ferret is the real jerk of the animal kingdom. They will take over prairie dog tunnels and not only eat the prairie dogs, but also live in their tunnels. Then I started thinking about how Lawton, Ok, wanted to run all of the prairie dogs out of town.

I immediately thought of some kind of prairie dog rustler, driving the prairie dogs out of town. Then I pictured all of the prairie dogs sewing their jewels into the hems of their garments as they flee for their lives. I painted a picture of herds of prairie dogs in various pleasant costumes, all of their worldly goods slung on their shoulders, holding hands with their young.

All of that in about three blocks.

I was laughing so hard I was crying.

I do feel less achy.

So I can either have sanity or anxiety.

Those are my only choices.

Leave a Reply

