I wish I could say I was suprised

Published September 3, 2014 by Lynda Christine Rodriguez

Life as a full-time teacher is definitely an interesting transition from my usual life of functional tree sloth with internet access.

I say interesting because many of the words I could use do not exist in any known language. (It’s actually a lot of sounds that vary from surprised to shocked with a few bits of horror tossed in.) I have often said that kids say things that I could not possibly sit down and make up as dialogue.  They also do things that no one would believe if it wasn’t happening inches from their face.

I started with Aristotle and his Poetics. From there I went to Dionysus, the Greek Wino who loved entertainment. From there we went to the Rules of Improv and on to creative drama with fairy tales.  I know that sounds like a lot to cover in the first week of school, but we did it. Some of the information actually stuck to some of the kids. (Interesting because it was Friday before I got a roll of tape for my classroom.)

Today we had a quick wrap up and review. It was quick because apparently all of the children ate chocolate covered crack over the long weekend and I didn’t want to turn my back on them to adjust the power point.

We discussed rituals and the fact that mankind has an innate need to imitate, thus we must perform.

Tomorrow we are going on to cave paintings.

I’m only a little scared of the idea, but it’s in the lesson plan, so I will make it happen.

At the surprise faculty meeting today (It was a surprise to me, I’m not sure if it was a surprise to anyone else.) I was recognized with a pin that said, “I made a difference today.”  I was awarded this pin because a child was asked by the Principal how the first week of school went.  The response he got was, “Ms. Rodriguez is the craziest person I have ever met.  I love going to her class.” I have to admit I wasn’t surprised by the crazy.

I’m not sure where to go from there.  Maybe maniacal? Or creatively loony.

 

Leave a Reply

