18 cents

Published October 18, 2014 by Lynda Christine Rodriguez

I love my job. I really do. I love everything I do and I love that I get to meet challenges head-on. I have made a new friend, Choir  Boy, who reminds me so much of Actor Boy that it gives me a twinch (twingeish pinch) . My co-workers are supportive, even the kind of clueless one who left my classroom in such a mess that it that it offended me. (If you knew what my house and car looked like, you would understand the seriousness of that statement.

Most of it is good.  One of my many challenges is the slow realization that the system sucks. (I know, Writer Chick, catch up.)  The suckiest part is that during some downtime (Ok, during a staff meeting when my mind was wandering and I was too close to the boss to doodle dirty things.) I figured out that at my current rate of pay, which is a bit on the high side for a first year teacher, but I DO have those diplomas and degrees and credentials, divided by the number of children I see every day and multiplied by the number of teaching days in the year is 82 cents. I get paid 82 Cents per  child to teach.

That’s tragic and sad for the kids. I think they are worth a full dollar. My daily challenge is to find the one that needs that extra 18 cents the most.

My lifelong challenge is trying not to think about the other 172 that aren’t getting it.

Leave a Reply

