That’s my problem, I want it to make sense

Published November 8, 2014 by Lynda Christine Rodriguez

Some of my wisdom, such as it is, has come from actually listening to my students as they engage me in tidbits of their life. (One of my special skills is that total strangers open up to me like I’m Barbara Walters. It’s a blessing and a curse.)  I had the great pleasure to teach both this child and her sister. She was explaining a decor choice her mother had made. I was trying to picture it and she said, “Oh I see. You want this to make sense.”

I hear her sweet little voice in my head every time logical thinking has steered me in the wrong direction.

It happened twice yesterday. I hate to publicly acknowledge my naivete  but I honestly thought logical thinking would be the right choice in dealing with school business.

I know. I still believe in Santa and kind of hope that my wishing well wishes will come true.

I have sufficiently ranted and raved about that.

We are screeching to the end of the second six weeks and we are squealing around the corner towards the holidays.  I am looking forward to spending time with Actor Boy. I am not looking forward to the big heap of grading I have to do next weekend, nor do I look forward to having to corral post-Thanksgiving children into some kind of Holiday play.

I still hope.

Fun stuff continues to happen in my class.

The Navy Seal candidate has had his presentation performance ready for over a week. Line by Line perfect with such a natural tone to his acting I thought he was actually speaking to me when he had me check his progress. He is also using his positive influence on other students.

The Acting Hopeful has potential and some natural skill. If he can take direction, he’s in great shape.

I see so much potential every day that I get flummoxed by challenge.

There are so many things to be grateful for in this job. First of all, there’s the job, and you know, the money so I can feed myself and keep a roof, such as it is, over my own head and the head of my spoiled cat.

I get to be part of the solution and not part of the problem.

My day aren’t filled with sunshine and hippies lying on the ground singing the Coca-Cola theme song.  I still have a handful of kids who are such products of the system that they fight learning every step of the way because they have yet to make a connection with the process. These are also the kids who know chapter and verse exactly what consequence is allowed for which offense. They are hyper aware of their rights. This is good, except it also makes them defensive.

I have to admit that I am more challenged and wounded by the remarks of one such child that told me that last week’s classes were boring because all we had done was worksheets.  He said that meant I wasn’t teaching him.

I know that as long as I am sticking within the curriculum, I’m fine. I have checked with my principal and my department heads. I am perfectly within my bounds as a teacher to assign written work as long as it is within the curriculum guidelines.

A colleague  curtly reprimanded me in front of my students during a fire drill yesterday.

I feel worse about being told by a student that I am not teaching.

That’s the kid that needs to be taught.

Because I want it to make sense

Leave a Reply

