It used to be giant rats; now it might be hand puppets

Published December 2, 2014 by Lynda Christine Rodriguez

I am beyond tired. It’s the kind of tired that you usually get when you are in Grad School and are being forced to re-lacquer a floor nightly because the Production Designer has gone mad with power and can force a number of people with degrees to lie face down on the floor next to toxic chemicals just because you can.

Please don’t ask me to prove that.

Today was the first day back from Thanksgiving break.

It wasn’t quite the Hell I imagined.

My most challenging class was indeed challenging, but the big surprise was how heinous my largest class was.

The amount of disrespect they showed each other made me want to smother them all.

That’s right. I said all.

I’m not the kind of person to make a blanket statement like that, but they defied description and excuse.

My colleague, Sparky, was subdued today. He is usually bright and shiny and full of hope, hence the nickname. His glumness (World’s worst king) combined with the general cruddy(I don’t want to be in THAT army) kind of brought me down.

While I was avoiding the world I went out to my car to search for change to buy a Diet Coke, (The machine was out of Coke Zero, which I didn’t find out until I had already put my money in the machine, so . . . ) I discovered my plush pig puppet huddling under a sweatshirt.  I removed him, to our mutual delight.

I manged to make it back to my class with soda, pig and lunch just as the bell rang and classes changed. I noticed that Sparky was waiting for his next herd of children to arrive. The pig, Percy, nudged me along. Percy and I went to Sparky and told him, “Do you know why you don’t teach pigs to sing? It wastes your time and annoys the pig.”

Sparky smiled.

I used to think the answer to everything was Giant Rats.

It’s possible that it might be Hand Puppets.

Leave a Reply

