Serious Blarg

Published March 15, 2015 by Lynda Christine Rodriguez

I can not believe that Spring Break is almost over. I have one luxurious day left and I’m kind of panicking. I’m actually running out of things to panic about. Me and my Amanda Friend ran errands today sand I have all of my supplies for next week arranged into a nice little heap and I did a lot of the heavy lifting (Literal lifting; I had to heave a table down the hall to my room.) before  the break.  I’m trying to relax, but the brain is racing. (note to self: investigate the correlation of a brain running around at top speed for no reason and then suddenly stopping to stare at a closed door and the nocturnal patterns of a hefty house cat.)

Panic Point 1) I haven’t heard back from CWH, who is new to my beta reader list. I’m wondering if I did somethingto personally offend him. It didn’t occur to me until today that maybe he just didn’t like my book. Panic Point 2) There’s still a huge hole in my roof and I have no idea when this is going to change, so I didn’t feel very motivated to clean. (To be fair, I don’t ever get truly motivated to clean)  Panic Point 3) My second Letter Competition is in 8 school days.  That needs very little explanation. Panic Point 4) In order to give all of my students the equal opportunity to achieve and get the best experience possible, I am returning to the nightmare of assigned seating.  Monday will indeed be an adventure. This panic point is related to a cumulative nightmare known as the Alternative Certification Process. In addition to all of the exciting alphabet soup events that are part of the joy and bliss of public education, there are many, many other things that I have to conquer/accomplish in the next two months, not the least of which is my evaluation.  More on that later

I talked to my most successful students, Actor Boy and Lighting Lad, and they both assured me that I am an awesome teacher and a fine human being. Actor Boy pointed out that I need to be a lot harder on the students and that perhaps some of them might have been taking advantage of my kind nature and gentle spirit, thus compromising my cherub-like demeanor.

Well, on the plus side, the universe did not collapse in itself in a spontaneous black hole (or if it did, this alternate reality is searingly close to the last one.)

So the only hole is in the ceiling, that might be a plus.

Leave a Reply

