Ok! Stupid.

Published June 7, 2015 by Lynda Christine Rodriguez

The Universe’s unerring ability and consistency to make a mockery of me is starting to get a little frustrating. (In fact, its becoming maddening and tri-state crime spree inducing, but I still want to have a teaching career in a very conservative state, so I’m erring on the side of caution.)

In the past seven days I’ve discovered that my house is teetering on the edge of lethal toxicity (and that’s after I got rid of the lying, cheating husband!) told several of my favorite students that I am not returning to school next year, given finals and had to corral my least enjoyable classes at such a volume and stress level that I actually lost my voice again.   I have tamped down my advance panic enough that I can sleep through and around most of the rough edges.

And what is on those edges?

I’m so glad you asked. Two of the more ridiculous things that I have encountered this past week is catfishing attempts.

For those of you not in the know,

according to Urban Dictionary, Catfishing is

The phenomenon of internet predators that fabricate online identities and entire social circles to trick people into emotional/romantic relationships (over a long period of time).

Possible motivations: revenge, loneliness, curiosity, boredom

I don’t want to discuss how these attempts came about, just suffice it to say because my life is the way it is the only way I can meet people outside of my immediate circle (said circle consists of several perfectly lovely people who are either in committed relationships,gay or both.  I am tired of being a third or fifth wheel, and to be honest, my cat is not a good dining companion.) is by going online.  I am careful, but also genuine. I don’t take stupid chances or make ridiculous mistakes. (I watch entirely too much crime drama and Dr. Phil.)

This care and paranoia led me to discover that one person I was messaging was not only not real, he  had  three different identities and had an entire webpage devoted to his particular brand of hypocrisy.

I was already in a seethe about this when I got a message from a peripheral “Good Match” from another fishy website. (There’s plenty of those.)  I have been exchanging perfunctory small talkery with this  particular fish for  several weeks, so I wasn’t really suspicious.  Last night I had a phone conversation with him. It was a nice general exchange of information, nothing too risky, because I’M NOT STUPID.   It was pleasant.

This morning, because I’M NOT STUPID, I did a google image search of the fish. (I watch a LOT of TV)

While there was not an entire scam page devoted to this guy, his picture did appear on the Canadian version of the fishy pond. His name in that pond is not the name he told me.  So that might not be that big of a deal.

What is a big deal to me is why people would do this in the first place.

There is a whole series on MTV (remember when they used to play music?) about this topic. Dr. Phil has done many, many episodes on the topic.  People get bilked out of thousands of dollars and lose quite a bit of self-respect.

Even if it’s harmless, why would anyone want to intentionally force a false personality on the public?

Yes I realize I just described the whole Presidential election process and possibly the fall line up for FOX.

Leave a Reply

