It’s not just vampires that don’t reflect.

Published July 7, 2015 by Lynda Christine Rodriguez

I think we have too much time on our hands. I don’t presume to speak for the entire first world, and I know that I certainly have plenty do and I’m just slacking around pontificating about the universe, but in my personal experience, I think we have too much time for reflection.
I attended Catholic school from Kindegarten through High School, although it was a bit disheartening to wear a plaid uniform for all thirteen years of my pre-collegiate education, I did receive superior tutelage. A major component of my parochial education was the pause for reflection. The interior Tonka truck that is my brain does not like to pause. Even after the God and the Universe force paused and rebooted my brain, I still don’t like to reflect.
I know I’m not the only one. If I were, Candy Crush and that infernal Kim Kardashian App woudln’t exist. We spend a lot of our time looking for ways not to be alone with ourselves.
I can’t sleep without interruption from the outside world. I need the faint flickery blue light of the televison and the soothing voice of the hosts of Forensic Files and American Justice to lull me into a sense of complacency. It occurs to me that those particular voices and shows soothe me because they narrate a process that creates order out of chaos and a whole loaf out of crumbs. (I have no idea where that came from. What’s a Meta phor? Sheep!)
Anyway the thoughts I am running from right now are all related to the teaching thing and looking for a job thing and the standardized teacher test thing that is making me balky. I am balking because I can’t see the end of this thing and even thought I know I am a clever indvidual, and that I am a good teacher,each and every time I take a practice test for this infernal beast I feel like a drooling idiot looking for a ditch in which to squat so I can poke berries up my nose.
It’s the dichotomy of wanting things to make sense and having to put aside everything I know to be true on this plane of existene to pass a test so I can teach kids that there is more to education than the test.
Even those guys at American Justice can’t get this together.
True, they only have 48 minutes, and I get a four hour block to take the test.
That gives me plenty of time to reflect.
And we’re back.

Leave a Reply

