Too Right, To write?

Published July 21, 2015 by Lynda Christine Rodriguez

I have spent the last few days reading and studying and taking practice tests.

I have now passed the test that I need to pass to take the other test I need to pass.

Think it out slowly; it will make sense.

The books I have been reading have been both thought provoking and daunting.

I started reading Finders Keepers by Stephen King.  I have a tendency to devour King’s books (and boy is he suprised!) and feel a bit lost when I have read it all up and there’s no more until he writes another.  Thus, I have been savoring the book.

The inciting incident in the book involves an esteemed author who keeps many, many journals containing works in progress.

This has inspired me to keep up with my journal and trying to poke my brain back into creativity. My brain does not like to be poked and keeps nudging me down to take a nap. But I have the journals and pens. So that’s a step.

The other book I zipped right through.

Big Fat Disaster by Beth Fehlbaum.

This book was both disturbing and thought provoking.  It made me angry on the protagonist’s behalf and made me want to rescue all of the lost and forlorn. (Samantha has said a resounding Nyet to this idea.) I don’t want to give too much of the story away; you should by all means read it for yourself.  I’m sure the good people at your Public Library will help you with this.

The protagonist, Colby, binge eats to cope with bullying. Most of the bullying comes from her own family. Flannery O’Connor stated that “Anyone who survives childhood has enough information to last him the rest of his days.”  Colby knows more than she can possibly every need to know. Many of us childhood surviors have felt bullied and/or dealt with emotional strife by turning to drugs, alcohol or food. Colby is an everywoman or everyteen. It sickens me that she is bullied, degraded and downtrodden and her family not only refuse to defend her, they blame her for it.

This is exactly why this is an important book.

And it provoked me so much, I have been having a hard time writing about it.

Leave a Reply

