It might look like crazy, but it’s possibly insane.

Published July 23, 2015 by Lynda Christine Rodriguez

I had a job interview today. I think it went well and I will know for sure tomorrow. The school looks great and it would be nice to get hired right away. I’m always a bit trepidatious when it comes to interviewing; I really try to not sound nuts, but sometims it just leaks through. Today I think only one or two things might be considered odd. Like when the principal asked me how I know my students enjoy my class, I told him what one of my students said last year, ” She’s the craziest person I’ve ever met. I love her class!” So I did come right out and say that a sixth grader thought I was nuts. That’s not too bad, right? So then the principal asked what would I do if the entire class seemed to be losing focus. I said, without missing a beat, “Polka Break.” A former colleague would come into my office, shriek, “Polka Break!” and then we would polka for a few moments. I went on to say that it didn’t have to be polka, it could be Panda Bear Madness Minute, or a Muppet Arm Workout. I, of course, demonstrated all of these. A little nutso, but not too bad. According to Cracked’s list of the 13 Most Insane Things happening right now, NASA’s New Horizon Spacecraft just did a fly by of Pluto. I think that’s a wee bit insane. Outer Space freaks me out. I watch a lot of crime drama and documentaries about unsolved mysteries but Aliens and space in general gives me the heebiest of jeebies. I think the space program is a direct result of unbridled hubris and our inability to stay out of things.  What changes could that space money have made right here on earth?Maybe provide food and safe drinking water for people without access to Brita Filters or Starbucks. Or how about basic hygiene products for the thousands of girls who miss school during what they call their “Week of Shame”? The list goes on and on. It sets my teeth on edge. Edgy teeth makes me think of my brother. (He has a habit of griding his teeth.) He has an interesting space program theory: The moon landing was real. The space walk on the dark side of the moon was also real and our astronauts were told by the dark side inhabitants that we need to stay on our own side if we know what’s good for us. And thus far we have. That makes so much sense it’s crazy. And we’re back.

Leave a Reply

