Ouch! That button is hot!

Published September 18, 2015 by Lynda Christine Rodriguez

I meant to post this on Wednesday which was the first day of Hispanic Heritage Month, but my internet was down and of course, this didn’t keep me from writing the draft, instead it just gave me an excuse to sloth a bit longer. (I know, I shouldn’t blame the sloths, they did not come into my house and sit on me, thereby denying me access to pen and paper or keyboard and screen. My cat, however, did.)

Immigration is not a new issue about which to dance and sing. In fact, the first time I ever voluntarily spoke up about something in elementary school way back in 1979 was during a heated (for Fifth Grade) discussion about Illegal Immigrants. Ok, so it was during Sister Marilyn’s current events round-up (world’s worst speciality rodeo) in  class of about 20, two thirds of whom were Hispanic, so the discussion was largely skewed. I even remember my actual comment, “I think most illegal immigrants would take the legal route, but everything is so slow.” (meaning the process of becoming a legal citizen.) My classmates gave a general consensus of agreement.

So here we are oh-good-God-thirty-six-years later and it is still a popular issue of debate.  I’m not going to give that idiot Donald Trump more press,because we all know how he feels about Mexican Immigrants. It is not surprising that so many other politicos feel the same way. Hell, it’s not even a big shock that all over the world, in the wake of the Syrian refugee crisis, that human beings are being treated like rabid animals or other unwelcomes.

I’m not going to recite the poor, huddled masses chant that so many others are voicing. I’m actually going to use this to talk about something fabulous that I stumbled upon at Thrift Town.

Capstone Press publishes this awesome series of books called Interactive History Adventures. This series is so awesome that I sure wish I had thought of it. Each book explores a period of history/historical topic. The reader chooses a path to take based on the experience of their choosing. For example, in the Mexican American Immigrants in America book, you can choose to experience life as a migrant worker in the 1970’s, a domestic worker in the early 21st century or a worker in a modern-day meatpacking plant.

Along the way you are given many choices to make as you make your way through your path.

I have to say I went all Blind Dog in a Meat locker over this whole series. This type of thing makes me very happy because that is exactly the way I teach; I want students to see the world as inhabited by people (I know, I’m one of those radicals.)

What resonated with me about this particular book is that no matter which path you choose, your primary motivation is to seek a better life for you and your family.  A life that guarantees a roof over your head and food with some regularity and maybe access to clean water, and maybe, just maybe the kind of safety that affords you a good night’s sleep.

That last paragraph basically describes the foundation of every episode of The Walking Dead.

Too bad we can’t get everyone to stay as rivited to The Fleeing Immigrant.

Leave a Reply

